The countdown for the International Mollusc of the Year 2023 campaign has started!

  • 00
  • 00
  • 00
  • 00

Voting period: March 1st (10:00 CET) - March 19th (23:59 CET) 2023
The International Mollusc of the Year 2023 will be announced on March 23rd 2023 in an official press-release. Stay tuned!

About the competition
The International Mollusc of the Year competition was started in 2021 by LOEWE-TBG and Senckenberg together with Unitas Malacologica (the world mollusc society). Molluscs include snails and slugs, mussels and clams, octopus and squid, as well as tusk shells (scaphopods), chitons, monoplacophorans and worm-molluscs.

The winning mollusc is selected by a public vote, and the “prize” is complete genome sequencing of the species by LOEWE TBG. Our aim is to celebrate the incredible diversity and inspire fascination for all worldwide molluscs.

How the competition works
Each year we accept nominations for potential competitors. Any living species of mollusc, anywhere in the world, is eligible. The only condition is that the person proposing the species must have access to specimens that would be suitable for genomic sequencing and can provide all relevant permits (Nagoya, CITES), in case the species is successful. We also expect the nominators to actively campaign for the finalists and encourage participation from the voting public!

A jury of scientific experts from Senckenberg, LOEWE TBG, and Unitas Malacologica reviews the nominations and selects five finalists. The finalists are selected based on many factors, including diverse representation of mollusc groups and geographic origins, the scientific feasibility of genome sequencing, and public appeal.