Current Highlight
Environmental DNA Time Series in Ecology

The Senckenberg Nature Research Society, the Goethe-University Frankfurt, the Justus-Liebig-University Gießen and the Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME have initiated a joint-venture to link the basic study of genomes from a broad taxonomic basis with genomics-based application.

The Centre is initially funded by Hesse’s “state initiative for the development of scientific and economic excellence” (LOEWE initiative) and was launched in January 2018.
Since 2008, the state of Hesse has been promoting outstanding future-oriented research projects with its excellence program LOEWE. Since then, 14 LOEWE centers and 54 LOEWE priorities have been selected for competitive support in competitive procedures.

ProLOEWE is the network of LOEWE research projects: they want to inform about their activities together, create short paths to their research and intensify their cooperation. An overview of the LOEWE research projects can be found at

Main objectives of LOEWE-TBG

The central focus of LOEWE-TBG is to extend biodiversity research to the genomic basis of biological diversity in order to make this diversity accessible for basic and applied research. We will achieve this objective by

  • establishing a new, taxonomically broad and publicly available genome collection, the Senckenberg Biodiversity Genome Collection (SBGC) as an innovative digital and specimen-based museum collection
  • comparatively studying genomics diversity across the tree of life to gain a better understanding of the origin and functions of all levels of biological diversity (from genes to ecosystems)
  • making genomic resources accessible for societal-demand driven applied research, e.g. as resources for a sustainable bioeconomy or nature and species conservation.

The inaugural steering committee of LOEWE-TBG. From left to right Prof. Dr. Axel Janke (Speaker, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Markus Pfenninger (Co-Speaker, Senckenberg), PD Dr. Steffen Pauls (Co-Speaker, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Ingo Ebersberger (Representative Comparative Genomics, Goethe-University), Oliver Kreitinger (Representative of Administration, Senckenberg), Dr. Carsten Nowak (Representative Genomic Biomonitoring, Senckenberg), Dr. Julia Krohmer (Representative Translation, Senckenberg), Dr. Miklós Bálint (Representative Functional Environmental Genomics, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Klimpel (Representative of Goethe-University), Prof. Dr. Böhning-Gaese (Representative of Senckenberg Board of Directors), Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas (Representative of Justus-Liebig-University). Missing: Prof. Dr. Dr. Gerd Geisslinger (Representative of Fraunhofer Institut for Molecular and Applied Ecology). Foto: TBG


Projects

Comparative Genomics
Strategies to optimize the analysis of gene flow in speciation at the example of giraffes, bears, whales and seals
Disentangling a strand of silk: evolution of silk biosynthesis and associated behaviour in caddisflies
Mobile Genetic Elements – novel treasures in unexplored genomes
Evolution and function of species interaction networks on the example of pioneering species

Natural Products Genomics:
Preclinical in vitro testing

Animal Venomics
Screening of in other subprojects identified natural products on biological activity and potential pharmaceutical application

Functional Environmental Genomics:
– Influence of anthropogenic substances on the germ cell mutation rate

Soil Metagenomics

Genomic Biomonitoring:
– MiGen Analysis: Microbiome and genome analyses of medically relevant hematophagous arthropods

Aktuelles Highlight
Environmental DNA Time Series in Ecology

Die Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung, die Goethe Universität Frankfurt, die Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen und das Fraunhofer Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Ökologie IME haben ein gemeinsames Forschungszentrum ins Leben gerufen, um die grundlegende Erforschung der Genome einer breiten Organismenvielfalt mit der Entwicklung anwendungsfähiger Dienstleistungen und Produkte verbinden.

Das LOEWE-Zentrum für Translationale Biodiversitätsgenomik (LOEWE-TBG) wird zunächst von der Hessischen Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz (LOEWE) finanziert und nahm im Januar 2018 seinen Betrieb auf.
Seit 2008 fördert das Land Hessen herausragende zukunftsweisende Forschungsvorhaben mit seinem Exzellenzprogramm LOEWE. Seither wurden 14 LOEWE-Zentren und 54 LOEWE-Schwerpunkte in wettbewerblichen Verfahren für die Förderung ausgewählt.

ProLOEWE ist das Netzwerk der LOEWE-Forschungsvorhaben: Sie wollen gemeinsam über ihre Aktivitäten informieren, kurze Wege zu ihrer Forschung schaffen und ihre Zusammenarbeit intensivieren. Einen Überblick über die LOEWE-Forschungsvorhaben finden Sie unter

Ziele des Forschungszentrums

Der zentrale Fokus von LOEWE-TBG liegt in der Ausweitung der Biodiversitätsforschung in die genomische Basis biologischer Diversität, um diese Diversität für Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Dieses Ziel erreichen wir durch

  • Schaffung einer neuen, taxonomisch breit aufgestellten und öffentlich verfügbaren Genomsammlung, der Senckenberg Biodiversity Genome Collection (SBGC) als innovative digitale und individuenbasierte Museumssammlung
  • Vergleichende Erforschung der genomischen Diversität über den Stammbaum des Lebens hinweg, um zu einem besseren Verständnis des Ursprungs und der Funktionen aller Ebenen der biologischen Diversität zu kommen (von Genen bis hin zu Ökosystemen)
  • Bereitstellung genomischer Ressourcen für auf gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen basierende angewandte Forschung, z. B. für eine nachhaltige Bioökonomie oder für den Natur- und Artenschutz.

Das konstituierende Leitungsgremium von LOEWE-TBG. Von links nach rechts: Prof. Dr. Axel Janke (Sprecher, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Markus Pfenninger (Co-Sprecher, Senckenberg), PD Dr. Steffen Pauls (Co-Sprecher, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Ingo Ebersberger (Repräsentant Vergleichende Genomik, Goethe-Universität), Oliver Kreitinger (Repräsentant der Administration, Senckenberg), Dr. Carsten Nowak (Repräsentant Genomisches Biomonitoring, Senckenberg), Dr. Julia Krohmer (Repräsentantin Transfer, Senckenberg), Dr. Miklós Bálint (Repräsentant Funktionale Umweltgenomik, Senckenberg), Prof. Dr. Klimpel (Repräsentant der Goethe-Universität), Prof. Dr. Böhning-Gaese (Repräsentantin des Senckenberg Direktoriums), Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas (Repräsentant der Justus-Liebig-Universität). Es fehlt: Prof. Dr. Dr. Gerd Geisslinger (Repräsentant des Fraunhofer Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME). Foto: TBG


Projekte

Vergleichende Genomik
Strategien zur Optimierung der Genflussanalyse in der Artbildung am Beispiel von Giraffen, Bären, Walen und Seehunden
Entwirren eines Seidenstranges: Evolution der Seidenbiosynthese und damit verbundenes Verhalten bei Köcherfliegen
Mobile genetische Elemente – neue Schätze in unerforschten Genomen
Evolution und Funktion von Arteninteraktionsnetzwerken am Beispiel von Pionierarten

Naturstoffgenomik:
Präklinische In-vitro-Testung der im TBG-Konsortium entdeckten Naturstoffe

Tiergifte
Screening der in den anderen Teilprojekten identifizierten Naturstoffe auf biologische Aktivität und potenzielle pharmazeutische Anwendung

Funktionale Umweltgenomik:
– Der Einfluss anthropogener Substanzen auf die Keimzellenmutationsrate

Bodenmetagnomik

Genomisches Biomonitoring:
– MiGen Analyse: Mikrobiom- und Genomanalysen medizinisch relevanter, hämatophager Arthropoda